Paleo Brekkie-To-Go + How To Make Instant Smoothies

Hello to all Paleo ninjas/enthusiasts/wannabes/has-beens/never-beens and almost-theres…

I’m excited to share this breakfast idea with you because, as we know, it is THE most important meal of the day, especially if you’re up before the crack of dawn to get down to Crossfit-U for some morning ass-whipping. I’ve posted before on how much I love my green smoothies for breakfast, but since it’s been cold and dark I’ve been craving warm, comforting food. I used to be a porridge addict, but as I’ve been avoiding grains (a habit that’s stuck since the Paleo Challenge), brekkie usually results in a simple fry-up of tomato, eggs and spinach topped with avocado, salt, pepper and paprika, a drizzle of olive oil and lemon juice. So good.

But one challenge I’ve had to face is what to eat after a morning Crossfit session. I go straight to work after training, and while there are plenty of cafes around (this is Melbourne, after all), the take-away options are usually carb-heavy rolls, toasties or sweet muffins. And if you sit down, they’ll charge you at least $16 for a fancy-ish plate of eggs, bacon and avocado (seriously folks, I don’t care how organic you claim your food is, it’s a bloody rip, and I can make it myself, thank you).

So I started playing around with my chia pudding recipe, until I came up with something that’s nutritious, protein-rich, filling, tasty AND easily transportable without the risk of spillage. I call it the SUPERCHARGED PALEO BREKKIE-TO-GO.

It works best when made the night before, which I KNOW requires some organisation, but if you’re like me, you’ve most likely already booked into your AM Crossfit session, made next day’s lunch, got your work clothes ready, and checked your keys are somewhere accessible so you’re not frantically tornado-ing through your room at 6.32am looking for those damn keys when you have to leave at 6.35am otherwise you’ll be late and Cheongy will make you do 1000 wall balls…anyway, my point being: what’s an extra 5 minutes to make breakfast the night before? (You can do it during the Game of Thrones opening credits…)

You do need a mini food processor, or anything that blends, plus a small container to put it in (duh).

Supercharged Paleo Brekkie-To-Go

For the basic mix:

  • 1/2 cup coconut milk (or milk of your choice)
  • 1 scoop natural protein powder (like 180 nutrition)
  • small banana or handful of berries
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp raw cacao powder

Additional bits n’ pieces: (feel free to add/omit/substitute)

  • 2 tsp psyllium husk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp coconut butter
  • a few drops of Stevia (natural liquid sweetener)
  • 1/2 tsp chlorella powder
  • thin slice of fresh ginger
  • spoonful of nut butter
  • cacao nibs for sprinkling

What to do:

Put everything except the cacao nibs in your blending device, blend until smooth. Check the consistency, if it’s too runny I usually add some more psyllium (or even half an avocado!), but remember the chia seeds will thicken it up overnight. If you’re not Paleo, feel free to add some oats for a bircher muesli-esque result, but add some extra milk or water to soak up the oats.

Transfer to your container, sprinkle with cacao nibs and extra berries if desired, and pop it in the fridge, preferably somewhere your bleary-eyed 6am brain can easily locate. And that’s it!

Additional note: don’t feel like you can only have this for breakfast! Once I came home absolutely starving and couldn’t be bothered waiting for my chicken to roast, so I made a quick pre-dinner dessert version with berries.

(I also wanted to throw in a pretty picture, because, let’s face it, tupperware just ain’t sexy).

And finally:

How To Make Instant Smoothies

I thought I’d include this as I’m sure you’re all looking at that lengthy ingredients list above and groaning with a sever case of the CBFs. Here’s a picture of the dry ingredients:

Clockwise from top right: protein, chlorella, chia seeds, coconut butter, cinnamon, psyllium, cacao powder

Clockwise from top right: protein, chlorella, chia seeds, coconut butter, cinnamon, psyllium, cacao powder

It’s a lot, right? It does take a bit of effort pulling out each jar, measuring out one scoop, two teaspoons, one tablespoon, etc etc, then putting it all back in the pantry. And if you’re rushing around in the morning – ain’t no one got time for that!

So what I do now is at the start of the week, like a Sunday night when I have a bit of extra time, I take a few little containers (yes, more sexy tupperware) and fill them with the required amount of each ingredient, all at once. So I go through the process of taking out each ingredient and putting it back ONLY ONCE for, say, the week. So when making smoothies or my amazing supercharged brekkie-to-go, I just grab one container and dump it in the blender. That way I only need to prepare the fresh ingredients. Believe me, it makes it a lot easier and faster! So give the instant smoothie trick a try :)

Happy blending,

Christina

The leaning tower of tupperware

The leaning tower of tupperware

3 thoughts on “Paleo Brekkie-To-Go + How To Make Instant Smoothies

  1. This looks like a great recipe – am going to make it tonight & try it out tomorrow.

    Mine will be slightly different as I’ll just use what I have around the house and pick up the extra ingredients at a later stage. Where do you think I can get cacao and psyllium husks? Coles/Woollies or health food stores only?

    • Hi Robyn,

      I’m glad you’re trying it out! Psyllium husks are available at Coles and Woollies (another tip: store in the fridge or freezer to keep fresh). The supermarkets may stock cacao powder, but health food shops will definitely have it. Just make sure it’s the raw cacao, not cocoa. I buy my health supplies from iHerb.com, it’s much cheaper than the physical stores. Check it out here: http://au.iherb.com/Navitas-Naturals-Cacao-Powder-Raw-Chocolate-Powder-16-oz-454-g/8254

      I’d love to hear your thoughts on how you go with the recipe!

      Christina

      • It was great – if anyone is reading this and hasn’t tried it, I highly recommend. I used unsweetened almond milk as that was all I had milk wise, which worked well. It was ridiculously easy to prepare and it was delicious. I don’t know why I don’t use my blender more often! I’m having people over for breakfast post running group this weekend and will be making it for them – I feel it’s in the easy but looks and tastes great category i.e. perfect for having people over & needing to make something quick while the rest of breakfast cooks.

Leave a Reply

