3 Fun Things You Can Make With A Blender

It’s Day 2 of Paleo May! Rather than post what I ate today, I’d like to share with you some fun, Paleo-friendly and most importantly, TASTY dishes that can be whipped up with a blender. Why a blender, you say? Ohhh, it’s only my favourite kitchen gadget of all time. It’s only a cheap-ish Breville, but it does the job. One day I’ll have enough cash for a $995 Vitamix. One day. (*sigh*)

1. Green Smoothies

I’m totally addicted to my morning green smoothie. It’s filling, tasty, and an awesome way to stuff yourself with greens. Who feels like eating 2 cups of salad for brekkie? Not me. But I’ll drink it! Here’s my favourite:

  • scoop of natural protein
  • small frozen banana (Remember to peel bananas before you freeze them)
  • slice of raw ginger
  • bunch of baby bok choy, chopped
  • handful of spinach
  • couple tablespoons of shredded coconut, plus a small spoon of coconut butter
  • teaspoon of raw cacao powder
  • a few drops of stevia (natural sweetener)

Blend everything with water and a few ice cubes. For easy blending, put the water, ice and banana in first, with the greens at the top. You may need to add more water if it’s too thick.

Good morning, greens! Today I used berries, chia seeds, parsley and coconut water

Heavy stuff at the bottom, leaves up the top

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are endless possibilities with your green smoothie. You can try other veggies like kale (remove the stems), cos lettuce, cucumber, avocado etc. Personally I find spinach and bok choy blend the smoothest. If you own a super duper blender like a Vitamix, you can blend whatever the hell you want, and it will still come out smooth.

For more ideas and to avoid any nasty smoothie fails, check out this great post on the Perfect Smoothie Formula.

 

2. Chia Pudding

Berry Chia Pudding. Totally tasty. And pretty, if you can be bothered picking mint leaves.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I made this yesterday with some leftover cashew nut milk. It’s a nice alternative to yoghurt, and you can flavour it any way you want. Also check out Cheongy’s version of chia seed pudding (no blender required).

For 3 small serves you will need:

  • 3 cups nut milk
  • 3-4 tablespoons chia seeds
  • cinnamon/vanilla/coconut butter/stevia/raw cacao/banana/berries

Simply blend the milk, chia seeds and desired fruit/other natural flavourings together, pour into ramekins or jars and set in the fridge for 10 mins or so. Or do it the night before and grab in the morning for a super quick brekkie! Experiment with the amount of chia – adding more will result in a thicker pudding. (You can also do this without a blender, but I personally don’t like the lumpy tapioca-like texture when you mix the chia in whole.)

 

3. Nut Butter

Image courtesy of My New Roots

Oh yeah. This stuff is amazing. Every time I whip up a new batch I dance around the kitchen with glee and hand spoons to my housemates going “Oh my God you have to taste this!” I’ve even started giving jars of nut butter as little gifts (you’ll get serious brownie points from your grandma, I promise). And, like making nut milk, it’s stupidly simple.

For 1 jar you will need:

  • 400g nuts – almonds, cashews, brazils, macadamias, hazelnuts. You can use one type or a combo (I like almond/cashew)
  • a tablespoon or so of coconut oil (optional)
  • sea salt (to taste)

What to do:

  1. Spread the nuts out on an oven tray. Roast at 150deg for 10-12 minutes until the nuts smell nice and toasty. DO NOT go and clean your bedroom and forget about them until the smoke alarm goes off otherwise you’ll end up with a tray of small lumps of charcoal. I dare say that’s slightly carcinogenic.
  2. Place non-charcoal nuts in the blender. Blend.
  3. Now this is where patience is required. The nuts will grind down to meal first, then they will probably get stuck and refuse to blend (this happens to me, it may be different with your blender). If this happens, use a spoon to mash the crushed nuts down, then blend again. You may like to add some coconut oil to help it ‘liquify’. Anyway, repeat this process until the nuts finally give in and turn to smooth butter.
  4. Taste, and add a pinch of sea salt if you wish. Yum!

Play around with adding other spices like vanilla, cinnamon or raw cacao. Sometimes I add some stevia to slightly sweeten it. I even once made my own “Nutella” by blending hazelnuts, raw cacao and coconut oil. SO GOOD. You can spread nut butter on fruit, carrot sticks and Paleo pancakes, or use it in homemade protein bars, or just be naughty like me and eat it out of the jar with a spoon.

So there you have it! I hope I’ve convinced you to either buy, borrow or steal a blender, and if you already own one, you should definitely get blending. If you have your own blender ideas to share, I’d love to hear them!

2 thoughts on “3 Fun Things You Can Make With A Blender

  1. Pingback: Paleo Brekkie-To-Go + How To Make Instant Smoothies | kips&kale

  2. Pingback: Paleo Brekkie-To-Go + How To Make Instant Smoothies

Leave a Reply

